Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Is the Legacy manual-backed for a two-cat household?
Yes. Its manual says it was designed for one or two cats and recommends at least one box per two cats beyond that.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the Legacy have a digital use counter without claiming an app?
Yes. The manual describes a counter that tallies visits; the sources used here do not establish app control for this Legacy configuration.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the Legacy support ordinary clumping litter?
No. The manual says to use PetSafe ScoopFree crystal trays; crystal litter does not clump.
Explore this need in the finder →Can I choose a current front-entry version without relying on the discontinued top-entry form?
Yes. PAL00-16806 is the current front-entry configuration. The separate top-entry PAL00-16965 is discontinued and remains reference-only.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the current front-entry Crystal Pro Legacy provide app reporting?
No app reporting is documented for this Legacy setup. The current front-entry shape and a local visit counter do not establish network or phone controls.
Explore this need in the finder →The Pro Legacy adds a counter and choice of entry
The ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy uses the same basic rake-and-crystal method as the simpler Classic: crystal litter absorbs urine, and a rake moves solid waste into a covered trap after a cat leaves. Its most useful differences are the built-in visit counter and the option to buy an uncovered or front-entry covered arrangement. This is still not a clumping-litter appliance. PetSafe says to use ScoopFree crystal litter; its manual warns against other litter and trays because the measured bed and tray shape are part of the design.
The uncovered configuration is PAL00-16805; the linked front-entry option is PAL00-16806. A PetSafe booklet separately names the top-entry model PAL00-16965, and the exact-model product page marks that variant discontinued. It is a real historical configuration, not a current buying choice. The support page also lists 300-3408, but its exact model/configuration crosswalk remains unclear. The main product image below shows the uncovered PAL00-16805, not either covered arrangement.
A rare useful number: one or two cats
The Legacy manual says PAL00-16805 and PAL00-16806 were designed for one or two cats and recommends at least one box for every two cats beyond that. It also calls the documented model best for cats under 15 pounds; that is a “best for” guide, not a stated hard weight cutoff. PetSafe's top-entry PAL00-16965 is identified in a separate booklet but is discontinued; do not carry the open/front-entry capacity note over to this reference-only configuration. The manual's tray schedule is more specific than a blanket “up to 30 days” claim: 20–30 days for one cat, 10–15 days for two and 7–10 days for three or more, with actual life affected by cat age, weight, health and diet. If your household has more than two cats, the maker's recommendation is not to stretch one of the manual-rated configurations across the whole group; plan for another box. For the top-entry SKU, don't use an unknown capacity as evidence that it meets a multi-cat requirement.
Published outer dimensions are 27.6 x 19.1 x 6.2 inches uncovered and 27.6 x 19.1 x 16.0 inches with a front-entry cover. PetSafe also lists 27.6 x 19.1 x 15.6 inches for top entry. The page does not label each axis as width, depth or height, so use the ordered measurements as a size check and measure the room in both directions. An open tray and a hooded version have very different vertical envelopes even though their plan dimensions are otherwise shared. PetSafe lists the top-entry version at 27.6 x 19.1 x 15.6 inches, although the published axes are not labeled; retain this as a historical size reference, not a current purchase recommendation.
The counter records visits; it does not diagnose
The Legacy has a digital health counter that tallies use. That can help a caregiver notice a change in frequency, but a visit count is not a urinary or digestive diagnosis and cannot explain what caused a change. The manual also describes a 20-minute cycle: after the cat leaves, the timer begins; if the cat returns before the rake starts, the countdown resets. A manual rake button is available. Kittens younger than six months must remain on manual scooping with the unit unplugged, and PetSafe cautions that older, incapacitated or disabled cats who may struggle to enter or exit are not intended users.
The covered option may contain litter and reduce the exposed view of the tray, but a hood can be a hurdle for a cat that has never used one. PetSafe recommends a gradual introduction and suggests leaving a new covered unit open if needed until the cat is comfortable. Start with the uncovered option if that best matches the cat's history, or add the cover after acceptance rather than treating privacy as an automatic upgrade.
Crystal tray service is the continuing tradeoff
The tray lid fits underneath the tray and closes over it when the tray is removed. PetSafe advises changing it when crystals are saturated or waste is collecting beyond the trap; using a tray longer than recommended can risk leakage. A dry, well-ventilated location extends tray life, while humidity, more frequent elimination, some diets and health factors can shorten it. The rake and sensors still need occasional cleaning. It is less daily scooping, not a zero-maintenance box, and the household has to be comfortable sourcing and discarding the fitted crystal trays.
Compared with the Crystal Classic, Legacy adds the counter and covered-entry choice. Compared with the current hooded Crystal Pro, Legacy's manual-documented model includes an uncovered base option and uses its counter to track visits; the current Pro adds a tray-life indicator and comes with a hood. The Crystal Smart is the choice when remote usage logs and alerts matter, while the Plus offers a tray-change light without the listed counter; app control is not confirmed for PAL00-18016.
Who should shortlist this version?
Choose the Legacy if a crystal tray is acceptable, a two-cat household limit is a useful manufacturer-backed filter, and a local use counter or front-entry hood is more important than phone monitoring. If you want to keep clumping litter, choose a different mechanism. The top-entry PAL00-16965 is discontinued and should not be treated as a current shortlist option. A precise weight cutoff is not stated for the current pair, and the separate 300-3408 support identifier remains unmapped. Confirm the number and supplied cover on the offer before purchase.
Key details at a glance
| Cleaning mechanism | Automatic rake over a crystal tray |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer-stated household capacity | 2 cats |
| Manufacturer's single-cat drawer interval claim | 30 days |
| Waste-type recognition | No |
| Built-in dual-camera system | No |
| Color LCD screen | Yes |
| Litter and care limits | The manual says to use PetSafe ScoopFree disposable crystal trays; crystals absorb urine and do not clump. It advises one litter box for every two cats and calls the model best for cats under 15 lb, which is not a stated hard weight limit. |
| Exact-model and package notes | PAL00-16805 is the uncovered version and PAL00-16806 is the current front-entry version; official PetSafe sources confirm both. Top-entry PAL00-16965 is documented, imaged and retained for reference, but its exact product page marks it discontinued; it is not a buying plan. The additional support number 300-3408 still lacks a SKU/configuration bridge. |
| Local visit counter | Yes |
| Rake delay after cat exit | 20 min |
| Tray replacement guidance | For the PAL00-16805 and PAL00-16806 versions, the manual estimates 20-30 days for one cat, 10-15 for two, and 7-10 for three or more. The top-entry PAL00-16965 model is discontinued and its exact interval is not stated in the model-specific material reviewed. |
| Published size note | Current uncovered PAL00-16805: 27.6 x 19.1 x 6.2 inches. Current front-entry PAL00-16806: 27.6 x 19.1 x 16.0 inches. The discontinued top-entry PAL00-16965 was listed at 27.6 x 19.1 x 15.6 inches. The manufacturer does not label axes. |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy product page and exact configuration links
- PetSafe Crystal Pro Legacy support page and model-number list
- PetSafe ScoopFree second-generation manual (PAL00-16805 and PAL00-16806)
- PetSafe product booklet with explicit covered and top-entry model identifiers
- U.S. CPSC recall database search for the exact model
- PetSafe Legacy top-entry product page for PAL00-16965 (reference-only; discontinued)
Compare the requirements that matter.
Compare cat fit, entry shape, litter, drawer routine, app reporting and exact package contents.
